American Postal Workers Union

Madison Wisconsin Area Local


You may email an officer or craft director on their page. The Presidents email form is on the bottom of this list. Or you can hover over the name and the email address will appear in the bottom left corner of the website.

Bret Wersland, President

Chris Degeyter, Vice-President

Patti Pasell, Secretary

Ken Whiteash, Treasurer

Doug Meyer, Clerk Craft Director

VACANT, Maintenance Craft Director

Tim Will, Motor Vehicle Director


Matt Campbell

Mary Goldade

Sarah Spafford



Erika Bobzien

Safety & Health

Bill Novak, Director

Contact Bret here !


Next Membership Meeting

Thursday, 9/29, 1:00 p.m.; Wednesday, 10/26, 7:00 p.m.

and Tuesday, 11/29, 9:00 a.m.

Next Executive Board Meeting     All are at 9:00 a.m.

Friday, 9/2

All membership meetings are held at

Dream Lanes, 13 Atlas Ct., Madison, WI 53714,

unless otherwise stated.

Continued from THE FLASH REPORT...

Word from the Wise:

Out-of-Area HMO Coverage

by Bill Wedeward

    I had a situation with GHC insurance that just finished about six months ago.  I have GHC family coverage for close to 20 years.

    My son is a type 1 diabetic and uses an insulin pump to manage and maintain sugar levels.  He goes to school in Milwaukee – which is out of GHC coverage area.

    GHC will cover medical care out-of-the-area at 100% of USUAL AND CUSTOMARY CHARGES.  You must call and notify them ASAP for further necessary care – get patched up, then come back to a GHC provider.

    About two years ago, Weston was ill and his roommate took him to an Aurora Health facility in Milwaukee.  He got help, then went back to his room.  Days later, he needed to go back.  Eventually, he recovered and had no more visits.

     GHC was notified and I needed to pay $75 for each appointment.  Case closed.

    I started receiving bills from Aurora for the two appointments totaling $4500.  They filed with GHC.  Six months later, GHC paid around $2000.

    I figured that was a payment for one appointment and the second appointment would be paid later.  I kept getting bills as I waited for the second payment.  Aurora wasn’t as patient and, after a year, Aurora threatened to take us to collections.

            I called GHC…the woman said they now have an outside agency deal with leftover balances.  She gave me their phone number.  I called.  The company was RPS, I think.  They would e-mail me the letter for each appointment for me to sign and send to Aurora.  The letter said the disputed the charges sent to collections, by law, could not affect Weston's credit.  Fine.
            This went on for another six months until...dun, dun, duuuuun...Aurora sent the account to collections.  I called RPS.  He said at this point, Weston or I WERE TO NEGOTIATE with the collection agency to lower the bill by at least half, then GHC will pay it.  I had enough.
            I told RPS and GHC I was taking this to the State Insurance Commissioner and the Better Business Bureau.  GHC had RPS guide you to collections in order to lower their financial responsibility. 
            A couple of days after the Commissioner's office and BBB contacted GHC, they called me wanting to know the balance to be paid in full -- paid in full two years after the incident.  I received a vague letter from the president of GHC with no mention of RPS or the set-up.
            If you have kids in school, or are traveling, and need to see a doctor, you may run into the same situation.  That doctor will charge this and the HMO only wants to pay that.  You are left with the difference.  Do not let them take advantage of you.

Check Your Check for COLAs

Your annual pay has increased $686 with the contract Cost of Living increase.  It pays to belong to the APWU.  Here is the contract pay schedule. 

Full Time Annual Basic Rates

Full Time Hourly Rates

End of Year Events

Leave year begins the first full pay period in January. This is January 9, 2016.  FTR employees will have their yearly annual leave advanced. PTFs and PSEs are credited with annual leave when earned. This also resets your accumulated LWOP and your 12 weeks of FMLA protection.

Open Season runs November 9, 2015 - December 14, 2015.  The Open Season includes the a) Federal Employee Health Benefits Program, b) USPS Health Benefits Program, c) Federal Employee Dental and Vision Insurance Program, and d) Flexible Spending Accounts.  Go to for more information on plans and what is right for you and your family.

PSEs who did not sign up at their first anniversary date may enroll now. Those not yet eligible for Federal Insurance may sign up under the ACA.

Penalty Overtime Exception  There is no penalty overtime during the month of December. Employees on the OTDL must still be used before non-listers are used for overtime and prior to PSEs working over 8 hours per day. PTFs and PSEs are still limited to the 12 hour work window (11.5 hours of work maximum). FTRs can work up to 12 hours on-the clock.

Welcome to the MWAL website. Come back again!

Welcome to the new website of the Madison Wisconsin Area Local 241, American Postal Workers Union.  If there is anything not on this website that you'd like to see on the website, please send an email to the Editor with the subject line of MWAL WEBSITE SUGGESTION.

Thank you for visiting.

Erika L. Bobzien, Web Weaver